Meeting Register Page

The 2022 Junior Theorists Symposium
16th Annual Junior Theorists Symposium
Thursday, August 4, 2022
University of Southern California

9:00am – 10:20am PT / 12:00pm - 2:20pm ET | Panel 1: STS
Discussant: Steven Epstein
Presenters:
Jonathan Shaffer (Boston University) - “Noncommunicable Diseases Between North and South: The Double Standards of a Single Category”
Lisa Owens (Columbia University) - “Birth, Blood, and the Social Origins of Trauma”
Brandon Sward (University of Chicago) - “The colonization of media: Indigeneity, visuality, and social science in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries”

10:30am - 11:50am PT / 1:30pm - 2:50pm ET | Panel 2: Politics
Discussant: Saskia Sassen
Presenters:
Vrinda Marwah (University of Utah) - “The caste of our commons: Political entrepreneurialism and social structure”
Luis Flores (University of Michigan) - “Polanyi at a Tupperware Party: Marketizing Home Life and the Social Limits of “Breadwinner Liberalism”
Wendy Li (University of Wisconsin-Madison) - “What Does the Revolving Door Do? Careers, Cohesion, and Policy Networks among Political Elites”

12:30pm - 1:50pm PT / 3:30pm - 4:50pm ET | Keynote & lunch continued
Winners of the 2020 Junior Theorist Award for “Gender and Charismatic Power”
Paul Joosse (Hong Kong University) and Robin Willey (Concordia University of Edmonton)

2:00pm - 3:20pm PT / 5:00pm - 6:20pm ET | Panel 3: Race and Methodology
Discussant: Mario Small
Presenters:
Jared Clemons (Duke University) and Mo Torres (Harvard University) - “Racism without Races: Sociology beyond the “Social Construction of Race”
prabhdeep singh kehal (Brown University) - “Negotiating Utopia: Ethnography and Theorizing from Entangled US Trans Subjectivities”
Sabrina Charles (New York University) - “Time and Unpredictability: Arrhythmia in Immigration Court”

3:30pm - 5:00pm PT / 6:30pm - 8:00pm ET | After-Panel: Theorizing Intersections
Panelists:
Tey Meadow
Tianna Paschel
Vrushali Patel
Mary Romero
Adia Harvey Wingfield

Questions? juniortheorists@gmail.com

Aug 4, 2022 09:00 AM in Pacific Time (US and Canada)

Loading
* Required information